Friday, May 17, 2024

    Latest Posts

    Cricket Australia Expands T20 World Cup Qualifiers

    Cricket Australia recently announced the T20 World Cup qualifiers are expanding and will feature 16 teams in the summer. Bangladesh, Namibia, Scotland, and Sri Lanka will be among the countries qualifying for the Men’s T20 World Cup 2022. In addition, Afghanistan has been assured of a Super 12 place in 2022. Moreover, South Africa is confirmed to compete in the first round of the tournament, and Singapore has been promoted to a global qualifier.

    South Africa

    South Africa is preparing for the T20 World Cup in India. The country is preparing by taking a squad of 15 players to India for a three-match T20I series. Several regulars will be part of the squad, including David Miller and Quinton de Kock. The team is also likely to include Anrich Nortje, Kagiso Rabada, and Tabraiz Shamsi.

    In the batting order, the Proteas have been without a star player for a long time. But they have a couple of new faces in the squad. T Stubbs, who has played for the Mumbai Indians in the IPL, is in the squad, replacing Bjorn Fortuin, who has retired from international cricket. Other players include Andile Pretorius and Marco Jansen.


    The Men’s T20 World Cup is fast approaching in Australia and India are among the favourites. They will be looking to reach the semi-finals for the first time since the last event in 2007. To do that, India need to finish in the top two spots of their Super 12 group. This will mean the top team from Group B and the second-best from Group A.

    Rohit Sharma is the captain and KL Rahul is the vice-captain. Axar Patel, Hardik and Bhuvneshwar are the other four players on the squad. Arshdeep and Bhuvneshwar are both expected to miss the Australia series and the South Africa assignment. They will report to the National Cricket Academy for conditioning work.

    New Zealand

    In less than a month, the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 will begin. The teams have until September 20 to announce their squads. The New Zealand team will announce their 15-man squad on September 20. The tournament is being played in New Zealand and the first match will be against Pakistan in Christchurch.

    In addition to playing the first match in the T20 World Cup, the Kiwis will play a warm-up match before the first match. The full list of fixtures and match timings can be found in the T20 World Cup 2022 schedule. Here are some of the players that will be able to make the team for the tournament.

    – Kane Williamson, Trent Boult, Mitchell Santner, Jimmy Neesham and Michael Bracewell have all been named in the 15-man squad for the T20 World Cup 2022. These players will make their debuts in the tournament, which kicks off on October 16.

    West Indies

    The first match of the ICC T20 World Cup 2022 will be held in Australia, where the West Indies will take on Scotland. It will be played at the Bellerive Oval in Hobart. This will be the Caribbean side’s first T20 World Cup match since 2016.

    The West Indies have been selected to play Australia in two T20Is, on October 5 and 7. The squad consists of Nicholas Pooran, Johnson Charles, Sheldon Cottrell, Akeal Hosein, Raymon Reifer and Evin Lewis. The West Indies have also retained the services of Evin Lewis and Raymon Reifer, who are all-rounders. As for the rest of the squad, there are a mix of youth and experience.

    West Indies have been a strong force in international cricket for many years. They won the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup in 2012 and 2016 and the ICC Champions Trophy in 2004. They also finished second at the Cricket World Cup in 1983 and the Under 19 World Cup in 2004. They have had some famous players in their ranks. Brian Lara, Alvin Kalichicharan, Sir Andy Roberts and many others have been inducted into the ICC World Hall of Fame.


    The England Men’s selection panel have named their squad for the ICC T20 World Cup 2022 in Australia. The tournament will start in October and the squad is expected to include players such as Chris Woakes and Mark Wood. Both players have recently recovered from injury and will be available for selection.

    The England team has been drafted in Group 1 alongside Australia and New Zealand, and will play their only warm-up game on October 17 at the Gabba. The final will be held on November 13 at Melbourne Cricket Ground. England will also play two teams from the preliminary qualifying round, which includes two-time champions Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and New Zealand.

    The ICC T20 World Cup 2022 will begin with a six-day group stage. This group stage will determine the final four teams that will qualify for the super 12 phase. Group A will feature England, Sri Lanka, Namibia, and two other qualifiers. Group B will feature the runner-up and the team that finishes third in their group.


    Latest Posts


    Don't Miss

    Stay in touch

    To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.