Friday, May 24, 2024

    Latest Posts

    T20 World Cup 2024: USA to stage T20 World Cup for the first time

    The T20 World Cup 2024 is a knockout tournament that will feature 20 teams from around the world. The time the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 venue will go somewhere where it has never been before, The USA will be hosting the event alongside the West Indies.

    The qualification process

    Eight teams will directly qualify from regional qualifiers, while the rest will have to compete in the knockout stage. The first round will feature eight teams in four groups of five, with the top two teams progressing to the Super 8 round. After the first round, two groups of four teams will play off for the final four slots in the knockout stage. A final will follow, with the winner of each group reaching the T20 World Cup 2024.

    The qualification process will begin in June, with the first qualifying event taking place in Europe. The 2024 World Cup will feature a record 20 teams. Eight of the teams will qualify automatically, while the other two spots will be filled by the next highest-ranked teams in the ICC T20 rankings. The Netherlands qualified by beating South Africa and finishing ahead of Bangladesh on net run rate.

    In addition to this the USA will be hosting a quarter of the matches, and the ICC announced that it will grant the United States an automatic qualification. The tournament will take place from June through July in 2024.

    Netherlands were the team who beat South Africa in the 2022 tournament’s quarterfinals, as they needed to win to advance. After batting first, the Netherlands scored 158 in 20 overs. Their win knocked out the Proteas from the tournament, as they ended up in fourth place.

    England are the reigning T20 World Cup champions. They beat Pakistan in the final in 2022 to become the  the second team after the West Indies to win two world t20 titles.

    Format of the T20 World Cup

    The ICC has made a bold move by changing the format of the T20 World Cup. In the 2024 cycle, the competition will include two rounds of seven teams, with the top three teams progressing to the Super 6 stage. The tournament’s organisers rely on the sale of broadcast rights to India and other Asian countries, so this move could have serious implications.

    Latest Posts


    Don't Miss

    Stay in touch

    To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.